The "International conference on quantum Metrology and Sensing" IQuMS 2019 will be held in Paris, France from the 09th to the 13th of december 2019. It will present an up to date perspective on this thriving field of quantum science and technology. The conference will be held at the Ecole Normale Supérieure. 

The conference will notably cover the topics of atomic clocks and inertial sensors; sensors based on artificial atoms in solids, such as color centers; quantum opto-mechanical and nanomechanical devices; electromagnetic sensing with quantum circuits; measurement standards based on quantum phenomena for the revised SI. The conference aims to showcase recent progress and to review emerging perspectives. It will notably discuss the limits imposed to various sensors by the laws of quantum mechanics (standard quantum limit), and underline in particular the possibilities opened by the use of non-classical quantum states, such as squeezed states or entangled states, to overcome this quantum limit.


The scientific program will combine tutorials and invited talks by prominent specialists, contributed talks, poster presentations and a panel discussion.

The conference is organized by the French network SIRTEQ Science and Engineering in Ile de France for Quantum Technologies.

Open Evening Event

An open evening on Quantum Sensing will be organized during the conference, on the 10th of december 2019. The event will take place at the Sorbonne Université Auditorium, where a public lecture will be given by the Nobel prize laureate William D. Phillips, Professor of Physics, University of Maryland, National Institute of Standards and Technology. The lecture is entitled :De la révolution française à la révolution quantique :le nouveau système métrique. Registration is free yet mandatory : here 

Confirmed invited speakers

Adrian Bachtold, ICFO Barcelona

Audrey Bienfait, CNRS

Dmitry Budker, Helmholtz Institute Mainz and UC Berkeley

Yiwen Chu, ETH Zurich

Aashish Clerk, University of Chicago

Simon Gröblacher, TU Delft

Saida Guellati, CNAM

Jacques Haesler, CSEM Switzerland

Marc Himbert, CNAM

Ania Jayich, University of Santa Barbara

Fedor Jelezko, Ulm University, Germany

Christiane Koch, Kassel University

Arnaud Landragin, Observatoire de Paris

Quan Li, Hong Kong University

Jérôme Lodewyck, Observatoire de Paris

Andrew Ludlow, NIST 

Nobuyuki Matsumoto, Tokohu University

Jukka Pekola, Aalto University, Finland

Wilfrid Poirier, LNE

Ernst Rasel, Leibniz Universität Hannover

Cindy Regal, University of Colorado

Irfan Siddiqi, UC Berkeley

Alexandre Tallaire, Chimie Paris, CNRS

Vladan Vuletic, MIT


Final detailed version of IQuMS Program.

Registration and submission

The attendance is limited to 200 registered participants (see registration page). There are no conference fees. Everyday lunches and the conference dinner will be free for participants. Support for travel or local expenses cannot be provided.

The deadline for application is the 15th of october 2019  and acceptance will be confirmed by email.

Participants are strongly encouraged to submit a contribution, please indicate whether oral or poster is preferred.

The deadline for abstract submission is reported to the 14th of september 2019.

To apply, click on 'Register' in the 'Main menu' section on the left column.

To submit a contribution, click on 'Submit' in the 'Main Menu' section on the left column. Please verify that you are registered before submitting a contribution. If you do not have an account on the 'sciencesconf' website yet, you will be guided to create one.

Information concerning acceptance of contributions will be sent directly to authors by the beginning of october 2019.

Paper submission

Abstracts should be submitted only in PDF as a 1 page file using the template. To find the template click on submit in the main menu and follow the steps and you will have the template. 

For people that have problems or dont prefer LaTeX, here is the template.pdf

Posters must be A0 vertical ( portrait ), printed by participants.

Venue and accomodation

The conference will take place in the Jean Jaurès amphitheater at Ecole Normale Supérieure. 

Here you find more information about how to get there :https://www.phys.ens.fr/spip.php?article579&lang=en


ATTENTION ! : A National strike at the SNCF and RATP ( public transportation within the Paris Region and at the national level)is expected on December 5, 2019 and might be renewed. We advise you to avoid this day as your arrival day to Paris and will keep you informed through the website page by new information.

To follow the evolution of the circulation, you can check the SNCF application available in english.

 Lunch buffet will be organized in the lobby of the ENS Physics Department.

The conference will not take care of accommodation. We draw your attention that the organizing committee does not provide any travel agency or hotels with any contact information and recommend you to be careful if you are contacted by any of these agencies. 


A gala dinner will be organized on the 11th of december at the Chapelle of the Museum of Arts and Crafts. A free visit will be organised followed by the dinner that will start at 7h30 pm. Due to limited places, the tickets will be distributed based on the first come first served method.

Satellite meeting – EMN-Q

EURAMET, the European association of national metrology institutes, has recently launched the European Metrology Network for Quantum Technologies, the so-called EMN-Q, with the ambition to address the metrology needs in the field through a common strategy including aspects such as research, infrastructure, knowledge transfer and services. Dealing with quantum clocks & atomic sensors, quantum electronics and quantum photonics, the EMN-Q is to engage with industrial and academic partners, standardization bodies and any other type of stakeholders. EMN-Q is also to liaise with the Quantum Flagship. During IQuMS, the participants will learn more about this initiative at the panel discussion on Wednesday and have the opportunity to express their metrology needs at the poster session on Thursday. Importantly, the consultation and discussions will be continued during an open special meeting to be held on Friday 13th of December from 14:00 to 17:00 at Observatoire de Paris; 77, avenue Denfert-Rochereau, 75014 Paris.

The registration is free yet mandatory.

If you are interested to join the meeting or, more generally, by the initiative, please fill in this form

For more information please contact:








Scientific committee


Thierry Debuisschert, France

Wolfgang Ertmer, Germany 

Ivan Favero, France (Chair)

Wiebke Guichard, France

Antoine Heidmann, France 

Renbao Liu, Hong Kong 

Christophe Salomon, France

Ronald Walsworth, Harvard, USA

Eva Weig, Konstanz, Germany 

Hiroshi Yamaguchi, NTT, Japan



Sophie Djordjevic

Ivan Favero

Saida Guellati

Gabriel Hetet

Yara Hodroj 

Michèle Leduc 

Franck Pereira Dos Santos  (Chair) 

Jean François Roch 

Christophe Salomon

Felicien Schopfer 




Online user: 2